Music on Mondays (12-15-14)—Boléro

un poco de fuerza… como no levantar el ánimo con EL BOLERO

Russel Ray Photos

The Music Chronicles of Russel Ray

When people find out how large my music collection is (it takes me 6 months to listen to everything at 11 hours of listening per day), I always get asked one of three questions:

What’s your favorite song?
What’s your favorite album?
Who’s your favorite group?

I have never really had an answer for any of those questions because my musical taste is so varied. I do know that The Beatles rank high in all three categories. However, it’s difficult to compare classical music to rock music to country music, and I have a lot of all three genres.

One of my favorite compositions is “Boléro” by Maurice Ravel (1876-1937). Having grown up as a pianist, violinist, and vocalist, I was familiar with “Boléro” from a very early age. Ravel composed it in 1928; it premiered at the Paris Opéra on November 28, 1928.

I’m not familiar with any big…

Ver la entrada original 406 palabras más

Responder

